Culture

Photos from the Movie 'Cloud Atlas,' Based on the Novel by David Mitchell

Tom Hanks and Halle Berry as Meronym in the epic drama "Cloud Atlas," distributed domestically by Warner Bros. Pictures and in select international territories. Photo by Jay Maidment.

David Mitchell’s Cloud Atlas proves his place in literature as postmodern visionary and a master of styles and genres. In his novel, Mitchell combines flat-out adventure, a Nabokovian love of puzzles, a keen eye for character, and a taste for mind-bending philosophical and scientific speculation in the tradition of Haruki Murakami, Umberto Eco, and Philip K. Dick. The result is brilliantly original fiction that reveals how disparate people connect, how their fates intertwine, and how their souls drift across time like clouds across the sky. Now, Mitchell’s epic work is a major motion picture starring Tom Hanks, Halle Berry, Susan Sarandon, and Hugh Grant, directed by Lana and Andy Wachowski and Tom Tykwer. It comes to theaters on October 26.

For images from the movie, click the first thumbnail below to start the slideshow.

Live a Life Well-Read Get the best of news, culture, and books delivered weekly. Join the Signature newsletter