Books

Leading Ladies in Lit: 16 Books with Fierce Female Protagonists

Female protagonists were rare in writing for far too long, living in the shadows of their male counterparts. Though this was presumably because of the way society functioned, it only maintained the idea that women are secondary to men. It’s exciting, and refreshing, to see a gradual shift in direction as time progresses, with women making their presences as the focal points of upcoming novels known more consistently than ever. After all, they are brave, innovative, powerful, and provocative, in all the best ways.

It’s time for women to bathe in the glory of the literary spotlight, and time for us to give them the appreciation they deserve. Here’s a list of exceptional books, either newly released or coming out soon, that feature female protagonists.

  • The cover of the book Lola

    Lola

    A Novel

    Melissa Scrivner Love’s masterful debut thriller centers on a woman named Lola who lives in South Central Los Angeles and becomes involved in the Crenshaw Six, a small but powerful gang. Lola is constantly underestimated and plays the role of submissive girlfriend, despite being much smarter, tougher, and more ruthless than most men. She becomes a leader in a man’s world, and as the gang faces deep trouble, her skills and leadership become their only hope of survival.

     
  • The cover of the book Into the Water

    Into the Water

    A Novel

    Paula Hawkins, author of the number one New York Times bestseller The Girl on the Train, returns with Into the Water, a psychological thriller. When a single mother is found dead at the bottom of a river, her fifteen-year-old daughter is left in the care of her aunt, Jules, who is fearful of being in town, as she believes more danger is lurking than meets the eye. Deep, dark secrets come to the surface when it’s discovered that Jules’s sister wasn’t the first to drown in the river, and certainly won’t be the last.

     
  • The cover of the book Time's a Thief

    Time's a Thief

    A Novel

    Francesca “Chess” Varani experiences the gritty ins-and-outs of college life at Barnard in mid-eighties New York. She grows up quickly as she encounters everything from toxic friendships, damaging love affairs, and difficult decisions that change her future. As more and more time passes, she finds herself caught up in the choices she’s made, and perhaps more importantly, the ones she didn’t. Chess is always looking back, always wanting something more than she has.

     
  • The cover of the book Eleanor Oliphant Is Completely Fine

    Eleanor Oliphant Is Completely Fine

    A Novel

    Eleanor Oliphant struggles when it comes to socializing with others, and tends to not have a filter when she holds a conversation. She feels content with her life of isolation, with weekends usually consisting of frozen pizza, vodka, and phone calls with her Mom. But everything changes when Eleanor meets Raymond, the clumsy IT guy from her office with questionable hygiene. Eleanor begins to discover things about herself that she never knew existed, and finds something she wasn’t looking for in the first place.

     
  • The cover of the book Saints for All Occasions

    Saints for All Occasions

    A novel

    Sisters Nora and Theresa Flynn are twenty-one and seventeen when they leave their quaint village in Ireland and journey to America. Nora is the more responsible sister, while Theresa tends to be more mischievous. When Theresa winds up pregnant, Nora comes up with a plan that changes both of their lives forever. From the New York Times bestselling author of Maine, this moving novel demonstrates the hope, sacrifice, and love between two sisters, and the secret that drives them apart.

     
  • The cover of the book The After Party

    The After Party

    A Novel

    Joan Fortier is a southern belle and socialite in 1950s Houston, Texas. Tall, blonde, beautiful, and strong, she is a force to be reckoned with. Every man wants her, and every woman wishes to be her. Cece Buchanan, Joan’s best friend, is either her chaperone or her partner in crime, depending on whom you ask. But when Joan behaves erratically the summer they turn twenty-five, Cece considers it her responsibility to put an end to the madness, forcing Joan to make one extremely difficult choice.

     
  • The cover of the book Anne Boleyn, A King's Obsession

    Anne Boleyn, A King's Obsession

    A Novel

    In this second novel of the epic Six Tudor Queens series, author and historian Alison Weir dives into the sixteenth century, and explores the story of Anne Boleyn, Henry VIII’s most infamous wife. She was an avid reader who was way ahead of her time, understanding the inequalities suffered by women, and the damage caused by the patriarchal society she lived in. Her compelling life, and death, forever changed her nation.

     
  • The cover of the book Chemistry

    Chemistry

    A novel

    Three years into her graduate studies at a demanding Boston university, the unnamed narrator in Weike Wang’s Chemistry discovers that her passion for chemistry is dwindling. She feels like a failure, and is constantly reminded of her shortcomings by her peers, her adviser, and most of all by her Chinese parents, who have always set high expectations. When her loving boyfriend, a fellow scientist, proposes to her, she finds herself in a bind; she doesn’t want to settle down before finding success on her own.

     
  • The cover of the book Standard Deviation

    Standard Deviation

    A novel

    Graham Cavanaugh’s second wife, Audra, longs to become closer with his first wife, Elspeth, and chooses to do so despite her husband’s disapproval. Audra pushes Graham to get on board with establishing a friendship with his ex-wife, leading to the three of them sharing dinners, holidays, and several glasses of wine. This humorous novel from the celebrated author of Single, Carefree, Mellow centers on the challenges of marriage, the joy and heartache of raising children, and the curiosity about the path not taken.

     
  • The cover of the book Perennials

    Perennials

    A Novel

    This evocative coming-of-age novel highlights the enduring power of female friendship as it follows the lives of two young women: Rachel Rivkin and Fiona Larkin. Rachel and Fiona have been finding that their relationship is becoming more complicated with each passing year, and when tension reaches an all-time high after their first year of college, their differences drive them apart. But when tragedy strikes, Rachel and Fiona are forced to come together to confront their pasts, and the adults they’re becoming.

     
  • The cover of the book The Shark Club

    The Shark Club

    One summer day on a Florida beach, two extraordinary things happen to Maeve Donnelly. First, she is kissed by Daniel, her ultimate crush. And second, she is bitten by a blacktip shark. Even after the attack, Maeve is unafraid of the ocean. Eighteen years later, she is a fearless world-traveling marine biologist with a goal of discovering more about the minds of misunderstood sharks. Maeve has always been confident, but when she returns home to the legendary Hotel of the Muses, she finds herself in a perplexing situation, unsure of what to do next.

     
  • The cover of the book Girl on the Leeside

    Girl on the Leeside

    A Novel

    Siobhan Doyle lives a quiet life in the Irish countryside, aspiring to be a poet and to retire to a life of books. She’s stayed with her Uncle Kee ever since her mother’s untimely death, and hasn’t really thought twice about his overprotective nature, because she is completely content with not leaving home … until a visiting American literary scholar awakens Siobhan to the possibility of a fulfilling life away from The Leeside. Shortly after meeting this charismatic newcomer, Siobhan learns that her father is still alive, and makes a decision that changes the course of her life.

     
  • The cover of the book Watch Me Disappear

    Watch Me Disappear

    A Novel

    Olive’s mom, Billie, vanished on a hiking trail a year ago, but the pain of the loss is still fresh and deep. Olive has grown to be extremely distant and quiet, shying away from all of her relationships, including the one she has with her father. But when Olive starts having visions of her mom, she turns to her father for help, and they both begin to uncover the truth about Billie. From the bestselling author of All We Ever Wanted Was Everything, this propulsive novel is perfect for fans of Big Little Lies.

     
  • The cover of the book Before Everything

    Before Everything

    Before Everything is a remarkable novel about the power of friendship and love among a group of women who have stuck together since they were girls. They’ve gone through everything together, from wild adolescent adventures to midlife turning points. Now, as Anna, the group’s trailblazer and brightest spark, enters hospice, they gather to do what they’ve always done – talk, laugh, and help each other decide on plans for the future in Anna’s rural Massachusetts home.

     
  • The cover of the book The Child

    The Child

    The author of the stunning New York Times bestseller The Widow returns with a brand-new novel of twisting psychological suspense featuring journalist Kate Waters, who is determined to uncover the truth behind the remains of a child found in an old house in London. As Kate investigates, she discovers connections to a crime that rocked the city decades earlier: A newborn baby was stolen from the maternity ward in a local hospital and was never found. As mysteries from the past unfold, it becomes clear to Kate that the story is not so simple, and some secrets are meant to stay hidden.

     
  • The cover of the book Sons and Daughters of Ease and Plenty

    Sons and Daughters of Ease and Plenty

    A Novel

    From the award-winning author of No One Is Here Except All of Us, this imaginative novel focuses on a wealthy New England family in the 1960s and ’70s that suddenly loses their fortune, and their bearings.  Fourth-grader Cricket is left alone to take care of her kindergarten-age twin brothers when her parents run off to pursue wreckless fantasies. Luckily, Cricket is loving, witty, and resourceful, wise beyond her years.